JSHS Regional Contacts

Please contact the regional director in your area by e-mail, phone, or post. Regions are listed alphabetically by state.

February 17-19, 2016
Dr. Mark Jones, State Counselor
Alabama Junior Academy of Science
Auburn, AL 36830
Tel. (334) 444-3099
email: mtjones@auburnschools.org
Web: http://www.alabamaacademyofscience.org

March 26, 2016
Dr. Abel Bult-Ito, Professor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
College of Natural Science & Math, Dept. of Biology & Wildlife
P.O. Box 756100
Fairbanks, AK 99775-6100
Phone: 907-978-2169
e-mail: abultito@alaska.edu
Web: http://www.ashsss.uaf.edu

March 6-7, 2015 (Date TBA)
B.L.  Ramakrishna, Professor 
Contact: Laura Hobson
Arizona State University
PO Box 876106, Tempe, AZ 85287-6106
Tel. 480-540-0514
email: contact@azjshs.org
Web: http://azjshs.org

March 11-12, 2016
Jessica P.C. Young, Ph.D., Asst. Professor
Dept. of Physical Science
Arkansas Tech University
Russellville, AR 72801
Phone: 479-880-4183
e-mail: jyoung35@atu.edu
Web: www.atu.edu/jshs

California - (Northern California & Western Nevada)

UCI-Irvine will host a web based competition for Northern California. Details TBA

Southern California
February 2016 (Date TBA)
Ann Miller
Center for Educational Partnerships
443 Social Science Tower
UC Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2505
email: amiller@uci.edu

Please see Intermountain and Wyoming/E. Colorado

March 13-14, 2016
Dr. Joy Erickson
School of Engineering
University of Connecticut
260 Glenbrook Rd., U-3262
Storrs, CT 06269
Phone: (860) 486-8115
e-mail: joy.erickson@uconn.edu

DoD Dependent Schools - Europe
February 29-March 2, 2016
Brian Zimmer
PSC 851, Box 69087
APO, AE 09834-0691
Phone: 011-49-973-177-27828
Email: Brian.Zimmer@eu.dodea.edu
Web: http://www.eu.dodea.edu

DoD Dependent Schools - Pacific
(including Guam, Okinawa, Korea and Japan)

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Sylvia M. Gingrich
DoDEA Pacific Area Office
Unit 35007
APO AP 96376-5007
Phone: 011-81-611-744-5678; DSN: (315)644-5678
e-mail: missy.gingrich@pac.dodea.edu
Web: http://www.pac.dodea.edu

District of Columbia

January 7-8, 2016
G. William Rebeck, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neuroscience
Georgetown University
3970 Reservoir Rd, NW
Washington, DC 20057
Phone: 202-687-1460
Website: http://csj.georgetown.edu/jshs
e-mail: sciencefair@georgetown.edu

January 31-February 2, 2016
Christy Rodkin
Center for Precollegiate Education and Training
University of Florida, PO Box 112010
Gainesville, FL 32611-2010
Phone: 352-392-2310
e-mail: JSEHS@cpet.ufl.edu
Web: http://www.cpet.ufl.edu/students/jsehs

February 22-24, 2016
Dr. Karen Shetterley
Center for Continuing Education, University of Georgia
1197 S. Lumpkin St.
Athens, GA 30602

Phone: 706-542-5654
e-mail: Karen.Shetterley@georgiacenter.uga.edu
Web: http://www.georgiacenter.uga.edu/ppd/academic-special-programs

January 16-17, 2016
Dr. Amanda Lowrey
Hawaii Academy of Science
c/o College of Education, Univ of Hawaii
1776 University Ave., UA4-4
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: 808-956-7930
Web: http://hawaiiacademyofscience.org/pacific-symposium

Please see Intermountain

Illinois - Chicago
March 19, 2016
William Kroll
Dept. of Biology, Loyola University Chicago
1050 W. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60660
Phone: 773-508-3287
e-mail: wkroll@luc.edu

March 10-12, 2016
Stephanie Eichholz
College of Science, Southern Illinois University
1245 Lincoln Dr., Mailcode 4403
Carbondale, IL 62901-4403
Phone: 618-536-6666
e-mail: eichh@siu.edu
Web: http://www.ijshs.siu.edu

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Dr. David Grabowski
Department of Sciences and Mathematics
Saint Mary of the Woods College
Saint Mary of the Woods, IN 47876
Phone: 812-535-5147
e-mail: dgrabowski@smwc.edu

(Includes Colorado, Montana, Idaho, Nevada and Utah)

(Please also see Wyoming-Eastern Colorado)

February 25-26, 2016
Amy Verlanic
Montana Tech
1300 W. Park St.
Butte, MT 59701
email: everlanic@mtech.edu
Web: http://institute.mtech.edu/jshs-registration

March 7-8, 2016
Leslie Flynn
Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development
The University of Iowa
600 Blank Honors Center
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-6213
e-mail: leslie-flynn@uiowa.edu

March 4-5, 2016
Candace Thrasher, Manager, Educational outreach
Oklahoma State University
325U Willard Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078
Tel. 405-744-8935
email: candace.thrasher@okstate.edu
Web: http://education.okstate.edu/oknjshs

February 26-27, 2016
Tom Tretter
Science Education, University of Louisville
1905 South 1st Street
Louisville, KY 40292
Phone: 502-852-0595
e-mail: tom.tretter@louisville.edu
Web: http://www.louisville.edu/education/jshs

January 2016 (Date TBA)
Shannon R. Carlson
Louisiana State University
1225 Pleasant Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-6672
e-mail: scarlson@outreach.lsu.edu
Web: http://www.outreach.lsu.edu/cms/PreK12/LouisianaJuniorScienceHumanitiesProgram.aspx

See Northern New England

March 30, 2016
Bruk Berhane
A. James Clark School of Engineering
University of Maryland
1131 Glenn L. Martin Hall
College Park, MD 20742
e-mail: jshsterp@umd.edu

See Southern New England

Michigan - Southeastern Michigan
March 2016 (Date TBA)
Dr. Maria Ferreira -- Contact: Sandra Yarema
College of Education, Rm. 281, 5425 Gullen Mall
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: 313-577-6370
e-mail: sandra.yarema@wayne.edu
Web: http://coe.wayne.edu/ted/science/jshs/
(also see Western Wisconsin-Upper Michigan)

See North Central

March 8, 2016
Buck Cooper
St. Andrew's Episcopal School
370 Old Agency Rd.
Ridgeland, MS 39157
email: cooperb@gosaints.org

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Dr. Kyra Krakos, Asst. Professor
Maryville University
650 Maryville University Dr.
St. Louis, MO 63141
Phone: 314-529-3305
St. Louis, MO 63141
email: jsehs@maryville.edu
or kkrakos@maryville.edu Web: http://www.maryville.edu/jsehs

Please see Intermountain

Please see Kansas-Nebraska-Oklahoma

Please see Intermountain and Northern California/Western Nevada

New Hampshire
Please see Northern New England

New Jersey- Monmouth
March 17-18, 2016
Dr. Richard Veit
Monmouth Junior Science Symposium
Monmouth University, 400 Cedar Ave.
W. Long Branch, NJ 07764
Phone: 732-571-7520
e-mail: rveit@monmouth.edu
Web: http://www.monmouth.edu/mjss

New Jersey at Rutgers University
March 28-29, 2016
Jean Patrick Antoine
Assistant Dean
Rutgers University, 98 Brett Rd., Rm. B-110
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8058
Phone: 848-445-4753
Web: http://soe.rutgers.edu/jshs

New York - Long Island
February 7, 2016
York College CUNY will host the Long Island JSHS -- See below contact info

New York - Metro
February 7, 2016
Dr. Panayiotis Meleties

CUNY York College
94-20 Guy Brewer Blvd.
Jamaica, Queens, NY 11451
Phone: 718-262-2806
email: pmeleties@york.cuny.edu

Web: http://www.york.cuny.edu/se/jshs

New York - Upstate New York
March 8-9, 2016
Debernee Privot
University at Albany
University in the High School Program
1400 Washington Avenue, BIO 001
Albany, NY 12222
Phone: 518-442-4148
e-mail: dprivott@albany.edu
Web: http://www.albany.edu/jshs

North Carolina
March 20-21, 2016
Alisa Wickliff, Associate Director
Center for Math, Science & Technology Education
College of Education Bldg., Suite 222
UNC Charlotte, 9201 University City Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
Phone: (704) 687-8818
e-mail: abwickli@uncc.edu

North Central
(Includes Minnesota, N. Dakota & S. Dakota)

April 2-3, 2016
Lise Weegman, Minnesota Academy of Science
8700 West 36th St., Suite 114W
St. Louis Park, MN 55426
Phone: 952-545-6789
e-mail: lise@mnmas.org
Web: http://www.mnmas.org

North Dakota
Please See North Central

Northern New England
(Includes Maine, New Hampshire, & Vermont)

March 31-April 1, 2016
Dr. Subhash Minocha
Professor of Plant Biology and Genetics
Univ of New Hampshire, Rudman Hall
Durham, NH 03824
Phone: 603-862-3840
e-mail: sminocha@unh.edu
Web: http://www.unh.edu/nnejshs

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Dr. Emilio Duran
Bowling Green State
School of Teaching and Learning
128 Life Sciences Bldg.
Bowling Green, OH 43403
Phone: 419-372-1262
Web: http://www.ojshs.org

Please see Kansas-Nebraska-Oklahoma

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Bevin Daglen
Oregon Episcopal School
6300 SW Nicol Rd., Portland, OR 97223
Tel. 503-416-9320
email: OregonJSHS@gmail.com
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/oregonjshs/

March 20-22, 2016
Briana Benson
Juniata College
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Phone: 814-641-3562;
email: Briana Benson

April 9, 2016
Kendrick Davis, Director of STEM Initiatives
Mayor's Office of Education
115 City Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel. 215-686-0331
email: Kendrick.Davis@phila.gov

Puerto Rico
March 12, 2016
Dr. Julio de Jesus, Asst. Professor
Intellexi Foundation, Puerto Rico Jr. Academy of Science
P.O. Box 418
Gurabo, PR 00778-0418
Tel. 787-502-6123
email: julitoscoqui@yahoo.com

Rhode Island
Please see Southern New England

South Carolina
January 23, 2016
Dr. Don M. Jordan
Center for Science Education, Sumwalt Rm 323
University of South Carolina
1200 Green St
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: 803-777-7007; email: djordan@sc.edu
Web: http://www.cas.sc.edu/cse

South Dakota
Please see North Central

Southern New England
(Includes Massachusetts & Rhode Island)

March 18, 2016
Dr. Michael Dennehy
Boston University, School of Education
Two Silber Way
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: 617-353-3551
e-mail: mdennehy@bu.edu

February 26-27, 2016
Erin Garcia
STEM-H Center for Outreach, Research & Education
University of New Mexico
MSC02 1570
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel. 505-277-4916
email: scifair@unm.edu

February 25-26, 2016
Dr. Nivedita Ganguly
University of Tennesse
VolsTeach, 821 Volunteer Dr
Knoxville, TN 37996-3391
Phone: 865-975-3545
Web: http://jshs-tn.utk.edu
e-mail: nganguly@utk.edu

January 21-23, 2016

Nancy Magnussen, Ph.D.
Educational Outreach and Women's Programs, Texas A&M University
3257 TAMU, 517 Blocker Bldg.
College Station, TX 77843-3257
Phone: 979-845-5587
e-mail: nancy@science.tamu.edu

Please see Intermountain

See Northern New England

March 17-18, 2016
Dr. Thomas C. DeVore
Chemistry and Biochemistry, MSC 4501
901 Carrier Dr., Rm 1362
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: 540-568-6672
e-mail: devoretc@jmu.edu

March 2016 (Date TBA)
Dr. Ray Myers
School of Education., Seattle Pacific University
3307 Third Ave. West, Suite 202
Seattle, WA 98119
Phone: 206-218-8830
e-mail: remyers@spu.edu
Web: http://www.wjshs.org

West Virginia
March 18-19, 2016
Dr. Jeanne D. Sullivan
59 College Avenue
West Virginia Wesleyan College
Buckhannon, WV 26201
Phone: 304-473-8125
e-mail: sullivan@wvwc.edu

Western Wisconsin/Upper Michigan
January 30-February 1, 2016
Heidi Masters
Department of Educational Studies
University of Wisconsin LaCrosse
1725 State St., 300E Morris Hall
LaCrosse, WI 54601
Phone: (608) 785-8130
e-mail: hmasters@uwlax.edu
Web: http://www.uwlax.edu

Wyoming-Eastern Colorado
March 24, 2016
Dr. Mark Lyford
Director, Life Sciences Program
University of Wyoming
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-2818
e-mail: Mahler@uwyo.edu
Web: http://www.uwyo.edu/jshs

If you are still uncertain which region you belong to after consulting this page and the regional map page, please contact the JSHS National Office

Return to top